Chakana Book Review

Chakana

By W.E. Lawrence

Genre: Historical, romance, adventure

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. This was a very exciting action and adventure story! Perfect for fans of Indiana Jones. I’m a huge fan of Nancy Drew computer games and this story had a lot of the same elements- discovering ancient secrets, following clues, and trying to find a treasure.

The story takes place shortly before WWII. Kate’s brother, Nick, sends her a mysterious artifact and asks that she give it to their old professor for safekeeping. Upon receiving it, the professor believes the artifact may be a key to a long-lost treasure. They soon realize that Nick may be in real danger and travel to Peru to find him. After arriving, Kate meets up with an old friend and love interest named James and she finds out they aren’t the only ones interested in looking for the treasure.

Pros: The book moved along at a good pace. I liked that there was background about the characters before they were thrown into the action. This book made me excited and made me want to have my own adventure. It kept me engaged. The mystery/adventure plot was well-written and had some surprises.

Cons: The love story seemed a little cheesy at times and I would have liked to see more character development.

All in all, I enjoyed this adventure story (mixed with some romance and mystery). I would recommend it for those who like historical romance and action/adventure.

Read More

Learning to Fly Book Tour

blog tour

Learning to Fly

LTF cover

By Jane Lambert

Genre: Women’s Fiction

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. What a good book this was and now I can’t wait for the sequel! Emily leaves her job as a flight attendant after her pilot boyfriend breaks things off. At age 40, she’s ready to pursue her dream of being an actress. This is a journey over what seemed like a few years of Emily’s life. Throughout this book, she has a variety of crazy jobs, both acting and otherwise. From driving around celebrities to doing multiple plays in only a few weeks, Emily struggles to keep herself afloat. In addition, Emily meets some love interests in this story and you truly don’t know who she will end up with, if anyone. Her closest friends have their own life challenges and drama to add to the mix.I really liked Emily. She was a hard-worker who typically stayed positive. She really put herself out there and changed her life to follow her dreams. She kept picking herself up and overcoming obstacles.I also liked that this book moved along very quickly and kept me engaged. That did make the format kind of different because it would skip weeks and months at a time. My pet peeve with this book was that it ended somewhat suddenly and with a major cliffhanger. Luckily, there is a sequel planned. This book also had some great traditional Italian recipes in it, due to Emily working as a waitress for some of it.This is a great book for fans of Lauren Graham’s “Someday, Someday, Maybe!”

US Amazon link

UK Amazon link

 *Book cover provided to me by the author*

Read More

Picture Perfect Review

Picture Perfect

By Jodi Picoult

Genre: Women’s Fiction

3 out of 5 stars. This review contains slight spoilers. This is NOT the typical Jodi Picoult book. The story begins with a woman stumbling about in the snow. Will, a half Native American police officer, finds her and takes her home. She has amnesia. Will works to help her find out who she is. It turns out that she is Cassie, an anthropologist, who met a movie star and fell in love with him. They got married and from the outside, things look picture perfect. However, after Cassie goes back home, she realizes she was wandering around in the snow because she was leaving her famous husband, Alex Rivers, who sometimes beats her. He had a traumatizing childhood and Cassie feels like it is her job to heal him.

This book shows us the Cassie and Alex love story from the beginning. The amazing thing that this book did was it made you want to root for them, even though Alex was abusive. I think Picoult was trying to make the reader understand why a wife would stay with an abusive husband. There were a lot of good parts to their life together. But there were also dark moments. This is the only book about domestic abuse that I’ve read where I actually felt sorry for the abuser and understood why the wife was with him and didn’t feel like she could leave. (Even though there is no excuse for abuse ever.)

This book also shows the reader some of Will’s Native American heritage. Honestly, Will’s part of the story was just not that interesting to me. Another critique of this book is that it moved along at a very slow pace. There was no point where I felt like I couldn’t put the book down. It wasn’t full of the typical Picoult twists and turns.

I appreciate Picoult bringing awareness to domestic abuse. However, if you’re looking for a typical Picoult read, I would choose another of her books.

Read More

For Rent Book Review

For Rent

By Erin Huss

Genre: Chick Lit, cozy mysteries, fiction

for-rent-front-cover-v3

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. This was such a cute and funny book! I love that this book is based on Erin Huss’s real-life experiences as an apartment manager. You can check out more hilarious stories at her blog: http://managingapartments.blogspot.com/ . Main character Cambria is desperate for a job, a place, and a paycheck. She thinks her prayers are answered when she applies for a job as an apartment manager that includes an on-site apartment. When she meets Chase, the hot handyman, she’s even more excited. Cambria ends up getting the job, but it’s not quite what she expected! A series of car thefts occur when she starts the job, causing multiple residents to move out. She also has to deal with the apartment owner’s crazy son, who likes to swim in the nude, among other strange habits. There’s the elderly couple who makes too much noise in their bedroom, bothering their neighbor and her pet bird who goes with her everywhere. Cambria makes it her mission to solve the crimes, keep her residents happy, and get a little closer to the hot handyman.

This book was simply hilarious with all the crazy residents! I really felt bad for poor Cambria being thrown into a job where someone didn’t give her all the dirty details. The mystery was intriguing, especially some surprise stuff that is revealed right at the very end. There was also some romance in this story with the handyman and with Cambria’s ex, who is the father of her daughter. The only thing that could have improved this story would have been for the reader to see more of the relationship between Cambria and her daughter. This story really engaged me right from the get-go and I read it in just a few days. I would highly recommend this story to fans of humor, chick lit, and cozy mysteries!

*Book cover provided to me by the author*

Read More

Beneath the Apple Blossom Blog Tour

Beneath the Apple Blossom Tour Banner

We are excited to be a part of another book tour! I loved this book that dealt with some serious issues, but had hope, friendship, and love despite it all. Keep reading for an awesome excerpt of the book, my review, and a giveaway! You could win a free paperback copy of this wonderful book!

Beneath the Apple Blossom Summary

Genre: Contemporary women’s fiction

Release Date: 04/08/16

Publisher: Lemon Tree Press.

Four women, linked by blood ties, friendship, betrayal, loss and hope, struggle with the choices they’ve made and the hand that life’s dealt them.

All Pippa’s ever wanted is marriage and kids, but at thirty-four and about to embark on IVF, her dream of having a family is far from certain. Her younger sister Georgie has the opposite problem, juggling her career, her lover, a young daughter and a husband who wants baby number two.

Pippa’s best friend Sienna has a successful career in the film world, and despite her boyfriend pressurising her to settle down, a baby is the last thing she wants. Happily married Connie shares the trauma of fertility treatment with Pippa, but underestimates the impact being unable to conceive will have on her and her marriage.

As their lives collide in a way they could never have predicted, will any of them get to see their hopes realised?

BTAB_eB_cov_FINAL

Book Extract

“Connie stopped and looked around. She had wandered a little way off the path and was in a small grassy clearing surrounded by trees heavy with spring leaves and blossom. Not in the mood for making small talk with a stranger, she chose a spot in semi-shade out of sight of the path, leant back against the slender tree trunk and closed her eyes. A slight breeze caressed her face and every so often she got the wonderful sensation of sunlight on her. She took a deep breath and drank in the scent of damp grass and spring flowers – fresh, sweet and alive – then opened her eyes to the canopy of white against the blue sky. The apple tree was bursting with blossom like masses of white teardrops.

She had everything to live for even if it didn’t feel like it right now. Life was a journey, and the best journeys were the ones that couldn’t be predicted before setting off, or that weren’t an easy ride to reach the destination. Right then, on    a perfect spring day beneath the apple blossom, she made a pact with herself to keep loving life whatever was thrown at her. She may have suffered yet more disappointment but she could still see beauty in the world and feel at peace.”

My Review

This book was given to me in exchange for an honest review. This was a great book. Main character Pippa begins writing a blog about her attempt to get pregnant and begin fertility treatments. Through the blog, she meets a friend named Connie, who is also trying for a baby. Meanwhile Pippa’s sister, Georgie, is trying to fight off her husband’s attempts for them to have a second. She feels overwhelmed by the one she already has and thinks it all happened too young. Pippa’s best friend, Sienna, never wants children, although her boyfriend wants marriage and a family. All of these ladies go through a journey of difficult circumstances (through their own making or otherwise) and come out the other side with storms weathered and lessons learned. 

I loved the hope that was present in this book, even as each woman’s life wasn’t turning out the way they expected it to. I also loved the lessons and examples of friendship. I think any woman can really relate to what the characters are experiencing and that feeling of being “stuck.” It was an engaging story, despite the serious topics covered. I would highly recommend this books to those who love women’s fiction.

Links and Giveaway

Buy Links

AMAZON UK

AMAZON US

Author Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/katefrostauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Kactus77

Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7131734.Kate_Frost

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/katefrostauthor/

Google+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/104783514144778238847/about/p/pub

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kate-frost-29976041?trk=hp-identity-name

Blog: http://kate-frost.co.uk/index.php/blog/

Website: http://kate-frost.co.uk/

a Rafflecopter giveaway : Click for your chance to win a free paperback copy of the book!

*Book cover, excerpt, and blurb provided to me as part of the book tour*

Read More