Happy Book Birthday 3/31/15

Happy Book Birthday 3/31/15

Happy Birthday to the books coming out today!

1. At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen: The cover of this book is gorgeous! This is a story from the author of Water for Elephants about a love story that takes place during World War II.

2. Unforgettable: A Son, A Mother, and the Lessons of a Lifetime by Scott Simon: This is a tribute to the mother/son relationship. This book started as a series of tweets when Simon’s mother was in the ICU that quickly went viral.

3. The Stranger by Harlan Coben: This book sounds thrilling! The Stranger whispers a secret about Adam’s wife in his ear and is confronted with a conspiracy.

***The buy links above are from Amazon. I do not get paid by authors or publishers for my reviews. They are 100% my personal, honest opinion. I DO, however, receive a small commission when a book purchase is made by clicking on the provided link. This does not impact the authenticity of my reviews in any way.***

Read More

Vampire Academy Review

vampire academy

I did not expect to enjoy this book as much as I did. A friend recommended it with some reservations, so I had low expectations going in. Maybe that’s why I was blown away!

The whole vampire trope has been so overdone ever since Twilight. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good vampire story! It’s just that the bookish market seemed to be flooded with fang stories, leaving me sick of them.

What sets this book apart from typical vampire stories is its roots in mythology and folklore. Reading up on the author, I learned that Mead has a background education in comparative religion and spent significant time researching mythology. Her reading sparked the idea for this series, and it is very evident. The concept of moroi vs. strigoi (light vs. dark vampires), and the half human dhampirs who serve as guardians to the preyed upon moroi FELT believable. It seemed like it could actually happen. Its very plausibility is what puts it far ahead of books featuring sparkly vampires (ahem!).

The concept of the bond Lissa and Rose share was fascinating. Weighing the ethical dilemma of diving into her best friend’s head, which on one hand, is an invasion of privacy, but on the other, a method of keeping her safe, was truly interesting! I kept going back and forth between being pissed at Rose for doing it, and then also relieved since it allowed her to come to the rescue on more than one occasion.

It should come as no surprise that I LOVED the love interest, Rose’s mentor Dimitri. Kind of creepy about the age difference, and the fact that he’s kind of her teacher… but whatever. I shipped it!

Another noteworthy element in the book was Lissa’s psychological issues. She would feel so overwhelmed with emotion, that she would cut herself. Feeling that physical pain allowed her to better deal with the mental pain. The way Mead handled this topic, and expertly wove it into the story, was incredible. I never really understood the point of cutting, but Lissa’s emotions seemed to vibrate off the page. I get it now.

Another aspect of the story that I LOVED was Rose’s bitchiness. Let’s get real. There are very few female leading ladies that are allowed to be hard core, super snarky, sometimes downright mean, bad asses. Women like that are generally not likeable characters. Mead manages to make Rose kind of bitchy, but totally relatable. I was rooting for her, despite not liking her on occasion. This was very well done, and I wish more authors would write “real” characters like Rose more often.

Overall, I ended up really, really liking this book! Shockingly so! With hearing mixed reviews going in, I was prepared to feel ambivalent. Instead, I was sucked into the story and was freaking out at some of the scarier moments. I can’t wait to read the next one! (My cruel husband said I had to wait until next week to purchase Frostbite, since I spent too much money on books this week. Meanie! I want to know what happens next RIGHT NOW! Lol!)

Purchase the book HERE!

 

We would like to reiterate that we are not paid by authors or publishers for our reviews. We may receive a free copy of a book in exchange for a review, but reviews are 100% our personal, honest opinion!
We do, however, receive a small commission when purchases are made on Amazon through our site. This does not impact the authenticity of our reviews in any way.
Cover image obtained from Goodreads.

Read More

Fab Five Fairytale Re-tellings

Fab Five Fairytale Retellings

This post is inspired by the beautiful new “Cinderella” movie! Yes, we all know the plot, but we’ve never seen it like this before! The colors are amazing, the costumes are swoon-worthy, Cinderella is strong and inspirational, and on and on. I LOVE fairytale retellings because I love these classic themes and seeing how they are timeless even in different settings and situations. So, in honor of Cinderella, here are five fab fairytale retellings.

 

1.  Desperately Ever After by Laura Kenyon: Oh my gosh, I ADORE this series! It takes the classic fairytale characters and drops them into the modern world with modern problems. The Beast is cheating on Belle, Cinderella had children too quickly and never got to fulfill her own dreams, Penny’s (Princess and the Pea) husband is a mama’s boy, and Rapunzel refuses to let any man into her heart after being abandoned by her prince. It’s totally chick lit style. All of the characters are flawed, not perfect like in the fairytales, and they all experience personal growth. This book is the bee’s knees!

2.  Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine: This was one of those books where I saw the movie first and enjoyed it, then read the book and thought it was so much better! Ella is cursed with the “gift” of obedience. She must do what she is told to do. Of course, her step-mother and step-sisters take major advantage of this. Ella goes on an adventure to find the fairy who cursed her to undo the curse and falls in love with the prince along the way. I felt so bad for Ella because of her curse, but she was so strong and clever despite it. An awesome YA read!

3.  Beastly by Alex Finn: Ok in all honesty, I haven’t read this book yet. It’s been on my to-read forever after I saw the movie and was surprised by how much I loved it! Kyle Kingsbury, the richest and most popular guy in his New York high school, has been cursed by a girl in his English class because he treats others rudely. He is turned into a “beast” (becomes ugly) and has two years to find true love. He’s going to have to get past looks and find someone else who can as well!

4.  Cinder by Marissa Meyer: I haven’t read this series yet, but my blog partner has and I have met the author in-person (at one of our awesome book events!). Cinder is a cyborg with a mysterious past. The prince begins to fall for her, not knowing she is considered a sub-par citizen due to being a cyborg. In addition, the earth is suffering from a deadly disease and considering making an alliance with an evil lunar queen. What a creative re-telling of Cinderella putting a dystopian/space/sci fi twist on the story!

5.  Unenchanted by Chanda Hahn: Mina thought she was a typical teenage girl until she finds out she is a descendant from the Brothers Grimm. Her family is cursed to live out every fairy tale and try to survive until the end in order to break the curse. In book one, she gets through two of the 200 stories she needs to complete. I loved the premise of this story, though I do think it could be better done. Here’s hoping the sequels are an improvement!

***The buy links above are from Amazon. I do not get paid by authors or publishers for my reviews. They are 100% my personal, honest opinion. I DO, however, receive a small commission when a book purchase is made by clicking on the provided link. This does not impact the authenticity of my reviews in any way.***

 

Read More

Waiting on Wednesday – Velvet Undercover

This historical fiction looks SO GOOD! A women’s spy group?! Count me in! Coming October 20th!

 

velvet undercover

 

Velvet Undercover by Terri Brown

 

Samantha Donaldson’s family has always done its duty for the British Crown. In the midst of World War I, seventeen-year-old Sam follows in their footsteps, serving her country from the homefront as a Girl Guide and messenger for the intelligence organization MI5. After her father disappears on a diplomatic mission, she continues their studies of languages, high-level mathematics, and complex puzzles and codes, hoping to make him proud.
When Sam is asked to join the famed women’s spy group La Dame Blanche she’s torn—this could be the adventure she’s dreamed of, but how can she abandon her mother, who has already lost a husband to the war? But when her handlers reveal shocking news, Sam realizes there’s no way she can refuse the exciting and dangerous opportunity.
Her acceptance leads her straight into the heart of enemy territory on a mission to extract the most valuable British spy embedded in Germany, known to the members of LDB only as Velvet. Deep undercover within the court of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Samantha must navigate the labyrinthine palace and its many glamorous—and secretive—residents to complete her assignment. To make matters worse she finds herself forming a forbidden attraction to the enemy-a dangerously handsome German guard. In a place where personal politics are treacherously entangled in wartime policy, can Samantha discover the truth and find Velvet before it’s too late…for them both?
From author Teri Brown comes the thrilling story of one girl’s journey into a deadly world of spycraft and betrayal—with unforgettable consequences.

 

*Cover and description obtained from Goodreads*

 

Read More

Happy Book Birthday! 3/24/15

We here at Chick Lit Chickadees would like to wish Paula Stokes and Jay Clark a very happy book birthday! Both of these look fabulous!

 

liars inc

 

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV’s How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called “Captivating to the very end,” Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

 

finding mr brightside

 

Finding Mr. Brightside by Jay Clark

Abram and Juliette know each other. They’ve lived down the street from each other their whole lives. But they don’t really know each other—at least, not until Juliette’s mom and Abram’s dad have a torrid affair that culminates in a deadly car crash. Sharing the same subdivision is uncomfortable, to say the least. They don’t speak.

Fast-forward to the neighborhood pharmacy, a few months later. Abram decides to say hello. Then he decides to invite her to Taco Bell. To her surprise as well as his, she agrees. And the real love story begins.

 

*Covers and descriptions curtesy of Goodreads*

Read More